When Was The NFL Founded? The History And Original 8 Teams

There are so many football related organizations in the world such as the NFL. The National Football League is the world’s popular sports organization. A group of people from Canton sat down and decided to come up with this organization so as to help in regulating football related rules. Many people do not know when the National Football League was founded.

So when was The National Football League founded?

The National Football League was founded by a group of people from Canton, Ohio in 1920. It was first named the American Professional Football Association. After two years it renamed to the National Football League.

American football has so many fans in the world. Regulating football related rules is very paramount and it is only possible through various organizations such as The National Football League. This article will therefore help readers know about The National Football League in terms when, where and when it was founded.

The National Football League

The National Football League was first formed as the American Professional Football Association (APFA) by a group of intellectuals from Canton in 1920. In the year 1922, APFA was renamed The National Football League. Its main purpose was to help in regulating football related rules.

The NFL is a professional American football team that is made up of thirty two teams which are equally distributed to the National Football Conference and American Football Conference. The National Football League usually has 18 seasons running from late august to late December. Each of the 32 National Football League teams play approximately 16 games with one week break after every game played.

Jim Thorpe was elected as the first president of the teams. He was a great athlete and a football league player too and helped in the following ways;

  • He raised the professional standards of football.
  • Stopped bidding for players among teams.
  • He secured cooperation.

A regular season was initialized by the agreement between National Football League and American Football League in the year 1966 when they wanted to get the champion in the best teams. The National Football League is the most popular in the US with the largest number of fans. The National Football League has the best teams and earns the highest revenue.

How long has The National Football League stayed since it was founded?

The National Football League was founded in 1920 with a duration of one hundred and one years. Over the past one hundred years, the National Football League has been so successful that it gained popularity. It has implemented more rules so that it maintains its performance.

The National Football League teams:

The National Football League is composed of 32 teams. These teams are subdivided into two leagues which are: The National Football Conference and American Football Conference.

National Football Conference

It is made up of 16 teams with four divisions which include East division, West division, North division and South division.

East division

It is made up of four teams which include; Washington Redskins, Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, and Philadelphia Eagles.

West division

It is also composed of 4 teams, which include; San Francisco, Los Angeles, Seattle Seahawks and Arizona Cardinals.

North division

It is made up of four teams. These teams are the Chicago Bears, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings.

South division

This division has four teams like all the other divisions. These teams are; New Orleans Saints, Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, and Tampam Bay Buccaneers.

American Football Conference

It is also made up of 16 teams with four divisions. Each division is made up of four teams as listed below.

East division

This division has four teams. These teams are: New York Jets, Miami Dolphins, Buffalo Bills, and New England Patriots.

West division

It is made up of four teams such as Oakland Raiders, Los Angeles Chargers, Kansas City Chiefs, and Denver Broncos.

North division

Made up of four teams which include: Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers, and Baltimore Ravens team.

South division

It is made of four teams. They include: Indianapolis Colts, Jaguars, Tennessee Titans, and Houston Texans.

History Of The Original 8 Teams

The National Football League was founded back in 1920 as The American Professional Football Association. It started with only 32 teams, two of which still exist up to today. These teams were reduced to 22 in the year 1926 and further decreased to 12 in1927.

The very first knockout happened in the year 1932 and the teams were about 8. They include; Boston Braves, New York Giants, Green Bay Packers, Chicago Cardinals, Washington Redskins, Brooklyn Dodgers, Chicago Bears, and State Island Stapleton.

The National Football League had only 8 teams in the year 1943. These teams were the Cardinals, Detroit Lions, Redskin, Bears, Giants, Packers, Steelers and Eagles.

Some more teams such as 49ers, Vikings, Saints, Falcons, Cowboys, Colts, Rams, and Browns were added. The Federation came up with The American Football League in 1969 which added ten new teams to the original teams.

Original 8 teams in the National Football League:

1. Giants from New York

The owner of the Giants team is Tim Mara and was founded in 1925. It invested $500. It is mostly called the New York Football Giants up to today. It is among the first National Football Teams that was known.

2. Chicago Bears

It was founded in the year 1920 by a businessman and named the Bears. A new coach, George Halas, transferred the team to Chicago in the year 1921.

3. Cardinals

It is among the oldest professional football clubs in the United States that was founded in 1988.

4. Green Bay Packers

It was founded in mid-august 1919 by high school football rivals. It was among the small town teams. It joined the National Football League in 1920 and 1930.

5. Detroit Lions

It is a National Football League’s team that is very old. It was founded back in 1928.

6. Redskins

It was also among the oldest National Football League’s teams that was founded in Washington in 1932. It is the only team that managed to win the first five world champions league.

7. Eagles

This team is from Philadelphia and was founded in 1933.

8. Pittsburgh Steelers

It was founded by Arthur J. Rooney in July 1933. It is the 7th oldest franchise team in the National Football League.

Frequently asked questions?

How much money is paid to a National Football League player?

Football players are paid a lot of money depending on the agreement and level of experience they have. For starters with no much experience in football, they are paid approximately 500,000 dollars while highly experienced players are paid up to over 1,000,000 dollars.

Are National Football League teams allowed to move between cities?

Teams can move between cities but it is very rare. They may or may not move depending on the reason behind them moving.

Which is the most successful team in the National Football League’s history?

The Green Bay Packers play a better game that is ahead of the other teams of the National Football League with approximately 769 victories up to the 2020 season.


Players were experiencing some severe injuries. The National Football League has helped in regulating football related rules. Some of these rules ensure safety of players and how injured players should be taken care of. The National Football League has also made giving back to society very possible. The teams participating in the National Football League were founded in different years and joined the NFL differently. They are from different countries and have some level of uniqueness. These teams are managed differently and are bonded by the National Football League Organization.